I can say with Picasso, “I do not find, I steal.”  (He said something like that.)  I did not create, rather I adapted this cardoon.  I found it in the Hortus Eystettensis and have inserted it into several of my paintings, as here.  It doesn’t, so far as I can determine, look anything like the actual cardoon (thistle).  Perhaps some gardener out there can illuminate the mystery prompted by a comparison of the Hortus Eyestettensis image with an everyday thistle.  

 I “transplanted” four or five of the Eystettensis thistles into my painting, of which you see a detail here.  This one seems to be doing well.  Could use a little more sun.  This is my kind of gardening.  My green thumb’s got a little cadium pale mixed with viridian.

[Top of the post:  Cardoon emblem, detail of a painting in progress, by Aletha Kuschan]

Leave a Reply

