Please don’t make me any offers.  It really isn’t this crooked in real life.  I just happen to live in a little cottage that Rembrandt, with his reed pen, might have turned into a masterpiece of drawing without breaking a sweat.  He had to wander to the outshirts of Amsterdam to find the poignant cottages of his great drawings, but all I have to do is step out my front door.  So, hey.  I can’t complain.

A couple years ago my daughter had an elementary school assignment to draw a picture of her house and write a story about it.  We both went outside to draw en plein air.  This was my version.  I love this drawing.  (P.S. by the way, there are timid funnel spiders that live in the boxwoods who consider this a portrait of their home too.)

[Top of the post:  Crooked Little House that Rembrandt would love,  pencil drawing, by Aletha Kuschan]

Leave a Reply

