I copied my daughter’s drawing to try something out using her idea.  I put her horse against a background of my choosing.  After some time had passed, I couldn’t tell whether the drawing was hers or mine.  Then she told me that “it’s yours.”  “I don’t draw like that,” she said. And, indeed, she is right.  You can upon closer inspection tell it’s my copy.  It lacks the vigor of the original that it otherwise resembles.

I study everything.  I have copied the old masters.  And I also copy my kid’s drawings.

[Top of the post:  author’s copy of her kid’s drawing, colored pencils]

Leave a Reply

