I love summer.  Some people complain about the heat.  Not me.  I complain about people who complain about the heat.  I love the heat.  I bask in the heat like a turtle.  I’m not talking about getting a suntan, mind you.  That’s bad for your health.  I’m talking about a sitting in deep shade, sweat still pouring off me, sweltering in the 90% humidity and loving it kind of appreciation of summer.  I’ll admit: a breeze can be good too.

So, I love to paint summer pictures.  I’m not the only one enjoying humidity.  Plants love humidity, and they grow like crazy, and I like to see them grow.  When summer gets really maniac with stuff growing everywhere, I’m in heaven.

I love the round, billowing forms of folliage on trees.  I love fonds of grass, the scribbly texture of weeds growing with abandon.  I love the texture, the layers, the depths, the color, and the long hours of daylight.  Consequently I enjoy painting images like the one above, summers of fact, and summers of imagination.

[Top of the post:  Crepe Myrtles in August, by Aletha Kuschan, acrylic on canvas]

5 thoughts on “Vertical Flowers

  1. We share a love of summer. We also seem to share a love of art..eh? 🙂
    I like the beautiful colors in your pieces..and I like your diversity (another thing we seem to have in common).

    I read some of your past posts, and I enjoyed reading them..I like your work, and your words!

    Good and creative energies to you!

  2. Thank you for the kind words. Regarding diversity, I love all kinds of art, and like to try lots of things, which makes for variety in the pictures. I’m glad you like it.

    Glad you’re finding the blog enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

