Since conceptual art is all the rage, and since I figure I could use some extra cash, I have decided to offer occasional thought-ful pieces (get it) to the public for sale.  Now, whereas I offer my “representational” art for very reasonable prices, I must in the interest of joining the conceptual art bandwagon offer my thought pieces at unreasonable prices, keeping them more in line with the global art market.  Nevertheless, astute collectors will find that my unreasonably priced conceptual pieces are still a Walmart bargain compared to everything else that’s out there.

Above, for sale (not sold in stores) is a pink eraser, pictured with a lovely largish rock.  One instantly remarks upon its exquisite scale.  (The rock can be purchased separately.)

Considered from the perspective of thought, I guarantee that thought-for-thought you’ll get more thought-for-your buck here.  I can beat anybody, anywhere, when it comes to price.

This pink eraser is available for only $499,999 (US dollars).  Yes!  You read that correctly!  How can this be true?  Compared to conceptual art anywhere else, you’ll never find a pink eraser for bargain prices like this again.  This is truly a once-in-a-lifetime sales event.

This pink eraser has erased my mistakes, and it can erase yours too.  (It’s interactive upon purchase.)  I have created positive and negative energies with it — which is to say, to all the in-the-know types out there, that I’ve rubbed and smudged drawings with it — not just erased!  It has, as one critic so aptly phrased it, “carved away the marks in a progressively evolving visual experiment.”

It’s a fine pink color.  Has an impecable provenance, having never left the artist’s studio — well, except for a few brief occasions when it was borrowed by the kid and later turned up in a pile of stuff along with some previously missing socks, pairs of scissors and tape dispensers.

It abounds in subtlety and nuance and has all its most recent ….  (Oops, actually I’m typing from text for another post.  Sorry.) 

In the image above, you see it being attacked by a spider.  Gentle collectors should not be alarmed.  The eraser is not harmed; the spider is not real!  I merely provide a virtual glimpse into the deeply profound and myriad scary facets of the pink eraser’s more complete significations through this adventurous image!

Purchase of the pink eraser can be accomplished using either a check or major credit card.  (However, bad checks will be returned with a $30 punishing fee.  And, that said, frivolous buyers are heartily encouraged to send many bad checks.) 

Please allow 4 – 6 weeks for delivery (in the United States — make that 4 – 6 months everywhere else).  The artist will gladly contemplate other offers if rendered in cold hard cash using crisp and true American money. 

To see previous conceptual art by this artist, click here.  And especially here.

9 thoughts on “New Thought piece (a super bargain)

  1. My tags! They are part of the conceptual “art.” Is my obscurity that of a romantic artist in a garret? Or like a drunken wino who has just drawn the world’s most achingly lovely drawing with water on a napkin and then died? [ref: Tom Wolfe, “The Painted Word”]

    What care I for the hoi polloi! — I who worships at the altar of beauty and truth!

    Does this mean you’re not offering me $499,000 US dollars?

    Well, thank you for your comment any way!!

  2. Excerpt from the catalogue – Aletha Kuschan’s conceptual work intersects with an increasingly complex world with an immediacy and deceptive simplicity, engaging the socio-structural and hegemonious aspects of post-colonial culture in such a way that we are forced to re-integrate our own exhibitionist tendancies and examine the psycopathology of hahahahahahaha. Brilliant.

  3. This is excellent and made me laugh out loud! This is straight out of Artist’s Newsletter ( magazine ) to which I subscribed for years without understanding anything they said in it! Thank you for such a livley start to my day. Maybe we could get others to post up conceptual pieces of their own and have conceptual internet exhibition?!!

  4. It is always the same thing, we are neighbors but it always take 4 to 6 months to get delivery from the US!
    Tu pourrai exposer au Palazzo Grassi http://www.palazzograssi.it/
    Tres rigolo, j’ai une gomme blanche, enfin grise maintenant, je peux faire de l’art conceptuel?

  5. You’re all such loves to write these sweet comments, but does no one wish to buy the little pink eraser? I’ll give you a 10% friend of the artist discount!

  6. I’m so excited! This masterpiece matches my new sofa exquisitely!!! The shape is so vertical, and horizontal! Will you accept gold as payment?

  7. Absolutely, I accept gold. (Hope you’ve got A LOT!) And I’m so glad to hear that you have such tasteful furnishings to support the exhibition of this very deep and meaningful eraser. Astute choice! Of course if you want the rocks or the fake spider, you understand I’ll have to charge extra. And there’s shipping and handling, too, of course. And special extra excise tax, and maybe a fee or two. I know you won’t mind a bit because it’s ART!!! Yeah.

Leave a Reply

