I got back to work today after a detour of over a week spent doing life’s unglamorous, necessary chores.  Fittingly I dove into the koi pond again, ever my refuge.  Here’s what I was able (joyfully, indulgently) to do during a day’s session.

My fish swim into the pond from left to right.  Here they come now.

Before long the pond is full and almost everybody’s arrived.

The koi begin to separate into individual identities.

And as I left the pond today, the water was becoming a darker blue, some koi were getting their spots and stripes, and a reflection or two waved over the surface of the water.  During my next visit to the pond, I’ll layer colors one over another through the whole pond,  filling out fish personalities, peering into the pond’s entire watery warp and weft.

It’s good to be back.

8 thoughts on “Back to the Koi Pond (happy again)

  1. I’m glad there’s a bit of silkyness. Real water is silky. And for my water to be likelike it needs to find some visual similitude of water’s firm moving silk.

  2. You are making a Koi pond come alive and I really like this!!!!! There is so much of you I see in the rendition of your applied marks. The energy is good, at least for this viewer.

  3. That is such an intriguing comment: that you see so much of me in the picture. That the picture reflects the same personality as what I’ve written? Or that the pictures in some other way seem like reflections of the same person?

    Well, I’m glad you like them. And perhaps they are my alter-ego … my life as a fish … I’m totally okay with that!

  4. I should have been more clear. I see pretty pictures of Koi ponds quite frequently in the art world. They are always pretty, but in this and the post before, I see a movement captured and and an energy. I think it is in your marks and how they are coming together. It includes the crosshatching and the bend to some of the fish and the overall feeling I get from this composition of an artist at work, if you follow what I am trying to say. That means so much more to this viewer and I feel something more than a pretty Koi picture.

  5. Wow, that’s such a kind thing to say and thank you for coming back and making a kind comment even nicer! I do try to get at something “serious” or deeper or what-have-you in the koi pictures. I am amazed myself, as I study the photos I use as references, at what look like patterns (of a sort) in the ways the fish relate to each other, that one discerns when the action is stopped by photography.

    Certainly animals like fish — or birds — are doing something with their navigation that forms relationships that are bigger than just a single animal’s behavior. There is something group-like to observe, and it changes.

    So I try to deal with that larger structure, and then too the translation into a drawing and what happens with line and color and techniques of cross-hatching add an abstract element.

    And there is perhaps something psychological in the choices one makes, even to use one photo and not another — or to combine photos — or other choices that bring in an unconscious element.

    Anyway the fishes are a beautiful and somewhat mysterious aspect of nature. And they are already “art” in a way since they are bred for their colors and aren’t altogether natually occuring.

    Thank you for your comments that are so thought-provoking.

  6. Tres beau mouvement, ils nagent vraiment!
    Tu as un set impressionnant de pastels, j’ai agrandi pour mieux voir…
    Nice to have you back in the aqua world, we are enjoying it very much.

Leave a Reply

