I decided rather boldly what I’m not sure anyone can decide:  that I would paint the landscapes as dreams, that I would dream them, that they would be narratives and the stuff in them would have symbolic meaning, not that I would assign meaning to anything, just that it would write itself there as the mind writes narrative in dreams when each thing achingly means deep something.  It’s like saying that everything would come alive – just would – and its texture be like life, breathing in rhythm wth actual breath, and the respirable air would fill the lungs with joy of reality.  How unreal dreams are (my painting more like that reality) yet how lived-in-each-moment truthful they are.

The first painting is a wall of leaves.  A road at the bottom curves somewhere but the plants don’t offer any path to their interior.  A dream about opacity of dreaming.  A dream about having arrived at the dreamscape and finding it impenetrable.  The first is a door that must be opened.

The shapes of the trees are round, and light pours across them like water over a surface.  The river of air above just edges into view where all is leaf.  The warm flow of sun warmed color and the cool radiance of pure liquid light glancing off and flowing into the brain where it makes thoughts bracing in cool waves of refreshment amid the well baking heat.  And cicada buzz sharpens colors, nothing to tell you the insects are there except what buzz emerges as raw color.  Does the buzz change light’s velocity?  Do they recolor the land with savage sound/music? 

The summer day itself is like a dream, bright, enchanting, beguiling, floating, vibrating summer day of endless summer day that goes too swiftly and soon fragments into scatters.

6 thoughts on “opening doors of leaves

  1. I always enjoy your drawings and paintings, but I’ve failed to mention how very, very good your writing is.

    I’ve always loved Proust – and stream of consciousness writings. In your case, perhaps it is stream of the sub-conscious that I find so intriguing. I often feel I am reading my own thoughts, so familiar and open is the style. I’m not being very articulate, but I think you can glean my intent.

    Great post. So insightful to the art.

  2. Thank you Patrice for these kind words, words that are so very helpful too. If my writing sounds like your thoughts, that is the best news I could get. I often wonder if the things I’m writing are just my own impression of things or if others sometimes feel the same way. I figured that even if it were only mine, other people might find it interesting to hear a different view. But I had rather hoped that I was speaking a more general truth.

    I can tell from stats that some people are checking out my posts, but when they don’t leave comments I always wonder what they think.

    I love comments!

    Thank you very much for yours.

  3. Yes, beautiful writing (and painting) – your narrative has certainly added to the painting, made me think of things I hadn’t thought of. I always assume that whatever thought passes through my brain, that other people have thought a similar thing – the nature of humanity to come up with parralel ideas – somewhere on the planet (not necessarily among any people I know in person of course – haha – need the internet to hook up with similar mindsets). The same goes for bevariour.

  4. I understand what you mean about “the wondering”…
    When I am making art, I think about so many things: rules of good art, life, symbolism, intent, color, deep questions and a myriad of possible “answers” … and when I am asked “what does this mean?” I can truthfully answer that the art may mean many things to me, but to the viewer, the meaning is whatever they wish, whatever they “get” – and I am comfortable with that.

    Yes, I, too wonder if other artists have complex or simple ideas about what and why they create. To find like-minded peers, one must toss ones ideals out into the universe and see who “bites.”

    I think Gabrielle has said it perfectly! Somewhere on the planet there must be a parallel to each of us…

  5. I always assume, Gabe, that I have various kindred spirits in the cosmos to whom my words and pictures will seem happily familiar. Then I have a side of me that doubts … that wonders if I’ve gone down some track that’s peculiar to me, and will anyone understand???, will anybody care! (with some boo hooing, etc.). Good and bad angels of my nature who argue over the postings.

    But, you are right that various parallel universes exist in the world. And sometimes we find those sympathetic souls. Happy day that is.

    (Of course our kindred spirits could be as peculiar and crazy as we are ….) (Okay, bad angel, enough of that ….)

    Here we go again ….!

  6. Patrice, yes this is so true what you’ve said. I see it as the proverbial message in a bottle tossed out onto the ocean. Then, too I like your metaphor about “biting” even better. Perhaps that’s the point of my fish, I go “fishing” with fish and see who takes the bait and bites.

    And that natural audience gets what I was trying to create. But they have also their own meaning, different from mine, also complex on the interpretive side.

    Lots of permutations to the questions. And then there’s the twin we don’t know we have ….

Leave a Reply

