I drive back home at night.  Get on the highway.  There’s an astonishing number of cars on the road at night no matter what time the hour.  On the crests of hills you see the streams of cars before you.  Red lights ahead, white lights advancing, each stream a path of lights moving, opposing currents white and red.  In this darkness, I fancy I am a fish like my koi.  The road has taken me.  I am caught up in the current.  It has become a black stream of fast water whose calling caught my instinct as it caught those of the others.  I joined the throng and we hurry each along our light strewn paths.  We are fish migrating.  I am become a pupil in the school of fish.

In the school of fish, what do I learn?  What is the pattern of which I am unwittingly a part?

One thought on “Beltway at Night/A fish dreaming

  1. Really love this post – there could be so many answers to that question (so I won’t answer – haha) – it puts your Koi painting in a whole new light – makes it seem like the Koi have a new purpose, a new direction – they are not just swimming aimlessly around your Koi pond. (just a edit – should it read ‘I have become a pupil in the school of fish.’ rather than ‘am’)

Leave a Reply

