I like to walk and many of the drawings I do are like walks that are taken vicariously.  The sheet for this drawing is small, 9 x 12, and yet I easily adjust to the scaled down image and soon wander amid the crepe myrtle trees.  The oil pastel crayon becomes an extension of body, a way of contemplating everything about a landscape that one might want to notice on a true mid-summer day in the open air where insects hum.

An internet definition of a mirage calls it, “a naturally occurring optical phenomenon in which light rays are bent to produce a displaced image of distant objects or the sky.”  I began with a quite genuine object which I bent to the needs of my paper, the paper color is a vivid red, and I indulge the exigencies of my still winter mood, which is heat seeking.  I want shrubbery weighted with flowers, and distant vistas of atmosphere bending to the earth, and crayon marks that blur into a lazy chaos.

Mirage that bends time and brings me most welcome summer.

2 thoughts on “Floating Oasis in the Space-time

Leave a Reply

