I saw a real stream, but I imagine it also.  And I prefer the imaginary one because I can walk into its water, stroll along the banks, enjoy it in any season.  I am not a trespasser.  It’s jurisdiction is entirely personal and fluid.  It can change more readily than the real stream.  It can overtake its banks even without a strong rain. 

It can go underground, too.  It can travel for miles, can circle the earth, and return to me and become an even deeper blue.

The koi were homesick and wanted me to build them a highway back to Japan, so I drew this stream.

2 thoughts on “The Stream is a Path

Leave a Reply

