I’m taking a wild guess and saying I painted this picture about thirty years ago.  I experimented with using paper mounted on panel during the early 1980s, and this painting has those characteristics so I must have made it then.  I never finished it.

I still often face that problem, a tendency to procrastinate indefinitely in response to fruitless and aimless perfectionism.  Back then, of course, I was just learning.  Didn’t know which direction the painting should go to be “finished.”  Everything was brand new.  T’was the first time for “this” and the first time for “that.”   One can hardly blame a rookie artist her bit of indecision.

Indeed, tis a pretty good excuse for procratination generally and for aimless perfectionism always — one that I can still use — since you can always be learning new things! I learn something new everyday in life’s expansive adventure.  Who can know how the story’s supposed to turn out?  I ask you ….

Anyway, that’s my “baby picture” above.  And below is one from my maturer self.

I studied the empty spaces back then.  And today, my goodness,  I’m wildly cluttered.  What can it mean?  Reason number 4,297 why one should clean house every once in a while …

2 thoughts on “My flowers Then and Now

  1. Wow, they are so different yet both wonderful. The first uncluttered and simple, the second full of life and joy and colour. A clean house is highly overrated – haha – you are clever!

  2. Given that these comments of yours come from someone with a psychological background, Gabe, I’m going to cut myself tons of slack. I’m not wildly cluttered, I’m just full of life and joy and colour!

    Superfabulouslyhappy diagnosis!

Leave a Reply

