I like color.  Color is the thing that made me want to be an artist.  Just looking at colors cheers me.  Putting the still life objects on the table, choosing one color to be next to another — this arranging the colors before even beginning to paint.  The colors sitting on the palette.  The light that flows over all the objects.  Reflections, shadows.

And the in-between spaces of the still life really delight me.  Do people know how wonderful the world looks in that couple of inches between the marmelade jar and the Chinese rice bowl?  Or in that passage where the folds in the cloth float behind and near the chrysanthemum vase?

I paint to look at things.  And if my paintings say things, it is “look at this!” and “look at that!”  The world is so amazing to look at.  We ought to be looking at it all the time.

7 thoughts on “there are bright colors in the World

  1. Ahh, this was just what I needed to see and read at this very moment, on this very day! I love your words: “I paint to look at things. And if my paintings say things, it is “look at this!” and “look at that!” The world is so amazing to look at. We ought to be looking at it all the time.” You are wonderful. Thank you for saving my day!

  2. P.S. I’d like to do a blog post sometime soon that just says, “What she said…” with a link to this post. Is that ok with you?

  3. Wonderful. I love to look 😉 and colours are so important (I am not sure I thought that when I was younger – though I had little control on the colours in my life when a little girl – except we were allowed to choose the colours of our rooms – my brothers chose orange at one stage (it was the seventies) – I can’t remember what colour I chose (I shared with my older sister – she probably chose the colour and that is why I don’t remember).

  4. “I like color. Color is the thing that made me want to be an artist. Just looking at colors cheers me.”

    I couldn’t have said it better myself. My art teacher always told my class, “Black and white can certainly look nice, but I am always going to be in favour of the coloured peices; why, if we were given the ability to see colour as humans, should we not express our joy for that blessing?”

Leave a Reply

