I spent so much time on one drawing (of which this is a detail) that I can be forgiven if I love looking at it.  I cross hatched until I thought my hand would fall off.  And still I didn’t stop.

It’s a good thing I just stocked up on ball point pens — or else I’d be running out of ink.

I was copying Cezanne’s “Still life with Apples and Peaches” from the National Gallery of Art, and though I’ve drawn it many times in front of the actual painting I made this copy from a reproduction in a book.

The detail of the painting above corresponds roughly to the section of my drawing featured in this post.

Leave a Reply

