Notwithstanding that “why ask why” is a good adage, I still wonder to myself why I am fixated on flowers in vases.  There are probably lots of reasons.  I find one reason in a doodle, tucked in a pocket notebook, a drawing made during an anonymous day of a remote past.  With lines that stretch upwards, a vase like a person who just stands there, the flowers having arms, lift them in a bodily gesture.  All the things artists paint have stories or meanings tucked away inside them.  Here the vase is like a being.  The flowers that expand from its top are like arms that stretch out.  Everytime I have drawn trees I’ve understood them that way too — as beings like human presences, their branches like arms.

I was a tree hugger avant la lettre.  And am a flower hugger too.

One thought on “Things that embrace

Leave a Reply

