An artist is not just her face.  The hands deserve some self-portraiture.  I draw with my hands, both of them, even with the non-dominant one, and it might be that they represent my truer nature even more than my face. They deserve more contemplation than I usually give them.

And my feet are also very much “me.”  They take me everywhere I want to go.  They take me to all those places where afterwards my hands draw.

So next time you think about doing the self-portrait, Artists, remember the hands and feet.

“Power and speed be hands and feet.”  originally from Beaumont and Fletcher as quoted in Ralph Waldo Emerson’s essay “Self-reliance.”
2 thoughts on “Power and speed be hands and feet

Leave a Reply

