I have never yet been to England.  Perhaps someday I’ll go.  Until then I have to be satisfied with the England of my thoughts.  And my thoughts have been amplified by seeing England in photographs.  And recently an acquaintance I’ve never met, another artist, posted photographs from his en plein air group.  So I decided to join the group vicariously.

It’s better to do landscape directly from nature, though the old masters usually made their landscapes in their studios.  Degas claimed to believe that landscape painting out of doors was a vice.  Of course he had a remarkable visual memory and could make his landscapes par coeur like those great Japanese and Chinese painters of old.

Well, I don’t mind using a photo now and then.  If God hadn’t meant for us to use photography, He wouldn’t have nudged our species to invent the camera.

Draw any way you can.  Just draw.

Leave a Reply

