This morning with coffee making random drawings, I was opening books, drawing whatever caught my eye.  The drawing above is  after Cezanne’s Blue Vase (Musee d’Orsay).  Never noticed the distortion in the vase in quite the same way before making this drawing.  The vase has a scalloped rim, but only on one side.  The shape is distorted too — everything is distorted.  And yet I seemed to see the why of the distortion more clearly today.

I was supposed to be studying landscape.  Indeed I picked up the Cezanne book to look at landscapes when I was derailed by this still life.  The vase and huge bough of flowers is tree-like and so it satisfies some of what I sought.

But today was also random day.  See things and make pictures.  Grab tools and think with them.  Crayons, blue ball point pen, paint, whatever.

2 thoughts on “Studying Cezanne on “random day”

  1. this blog is unique because it stimulates readers to be not
    afraid of art.Only a clever and generous artist does
    bring joy into our lives Thank you

    Thank you, for your always kind comments, Victor.

  2. She is nothing if not generous Victor – yayay for Aletha – that’s exactly what I love about your blog – makes even me feel like I could paint or draw something and get away with it 😉

    You draw wonderful thought pictures in words in your poetry, Gabe, and we are so glad that you do.

Leave a Reply

