Aletha Kuschan's Weblog

I used to paint flowers this way.  I got some from the yard or bought them at the store.   I put them in a vase.  And I painted them.  It was very straightforward.  After a bit, the flowers had all changed positions (they move around a lot more than one would think), and since I didn’t know how to paint something unless I was looking at it (that’s still essentially true), I had to be firm in deciding what I was doing.

Once the flowers or their shadows and colors have moved around enough to confuse my composition, I had to call the picture “finished.”  Since speed was the skill I needed, I learned to see and decide quickly.  My technique was all about finding a visual shorthand for whatever aspect my idea I wanted.

The paintings varied, they looked different, because I deliberately tried different things.  Different colors, sizes…

View original post 368 more words

Posted in art

Leave a Reply

