101_9009 (2)

I discovered that the cloth I’m using in my still life in progress was turned wrong-side out when I originally set up the objects.  I just assumed that I had arranged it with the right side up.  So the colors are muted and I’ve decided to revert back to that original intention.  I made the discover while drawing from a photo I have of the original set up.  I was waiting in the car for my daughter and occupying the time with drawing when I looked closer at the picture and noticed the color differences.    I made note of it in my diary at the time and remind myself here too! Meanwhile, back in the studio …

101_9007 (2)

one still life is sitting in front of another, so I decided to draw them to pass the time and get warmed up for working.  I think it’s amusing trying to untangle the jumble of things available to look at in drawings like these.  If you care to join in, a photo of the jumble appears below:

101_9000 (3)

Also got to thinking about the eye on the fish vase.  It reminds me of a detail of a drawing that I made years ago (with some help from my daughter who was very young at the time).  I want to do more with this eye when I get to the big painting.  Not sure how that will go, but I note that it might prove interesting.

101_9010 (2)

It reminds me of this, and I see an opportunity.

fish eye

Leave a Reply

