101_9026 (2)

I’m focused on one painting for a while, one that I’m not ready to picture here. It’s a largish still life.  I make small practice paintings concerning parts of it.  The picture of two bottles on a varicolored cloth is one such example.  I brushed this together quickly and so far it provides just a kind of rehearsal for the forms. But I plan also to use some of these studies to test out color and drawing ideas before I try them in the actual painting.  That way if something clearly isn’t effective, I’ll know.  Hence more stuff needs to be added to this little pochade for its experiment to be complete.

I like the breezy, sketched appearance of this little study.  But when it dries I will begin indicating the pattern on the cloth.  During that phase, who knows but I might completely wreak this picture.  Or not.   I’ll find out.  In any case it’s practice so it’s role is to provide me with information.

It’s a bunch of fun to paint. A lark.  I love little things like this. It’s 9 x 12 on Arches oil paper.

One thought on “two bottles

Leave a Reply

