white-vase-violet-persimmons-2

Some drawings are thoughts. I usually approach pastel as though it were painting, but in this one I was drawing as much as painting — was putting things in places, was putting down lines in particular.  I like seeing the lines in situations.  I feel like everyone ought to notice the lines that are everywhere.  The world is filled with the most amazing lines everywhere that you look ….

But I digress. I like the bright orange of the persimmons against the pale sky blue of an old table cloth. And the pale violet of the backdrop with them, and the sweet sentimental rose on the elegant pitcher.  They all conspire most earnestly to convince me that life is good.  I remember all the joys of hundreds of ordinary days of the present and past years and believe that the future will be similarly rich in experiences.  Various members of my family are evoked in a picture like this.

It’s almost a family portrait.

Pastel on Canson Mi-Teintes “touch” paper; 17 x 20.5 inches

Leave a Reply

