after Redon

Sometimes I want drawing to be my idleness.  If I just draw, without expectation, choosing something I want to look at, to think about the vision with the pen making lines as I watch, that can be an unhurried, lazy drawing.

I decided that spending some time with pictures I love could be a good way to use this idle approach.  I found Odilon Redon’s “Mystical Conversation” in a book and have made this little exploratory drawing of it.  As you can see, it’s a good picture to relax with. Sometimes idleness can bring with it great freedom.

7 thoughts on “Idleness & drawing

  1. I love that blue of pen in good drawings like these. Odile Redon, wow – I think I saw some of his paintings in the Musee D’Orsay many years ago. One day when I am free I am going to paint a whole series of copies of his work. The soft mystical light of them is quite rare in well known paintings, I think.

  2. I have been thinking of doing something like that too, Fritz. I love Redon’s paintings and they relate to certain subjects I have painted and to ones I want to paint. He seems to relate to the poetry that you love as well, don’t you think….

Leave a Reply

