butterfly drawing blocked

Cleaning house is a psychological event.  I have already had more than one reunion with a long lost item.  I am discovering while reading Marie Kondo’s book “the life-changing magic of tidying up” that many things that fill my house can easily be tossed.  I haven’t used them in years.  I don’t need them.  I’ll never use them.  Time to release such things back into the wild.

But I am also finding many things that were merely hidden under the crush of stuff.  Retrieving these items is archaeology.  Rediscovering these hidden items gives me access to other parts of my memory.  They are like windows opening onto my past life.

And so cleaning house is a bit like dreaming.

I never know exactly what I will find. I open a door and an image is waiting there.

I am welcoming many long interred ideas back into my life.  And it is changing me.

Memory is a source of invention.

2 thoughts on “transformation comes slowly

  1. You have Marie Kondo’s book … I wish you good luck in your decluttering endeavor … I am going forward bravely, but goodness I have a big task ahead. But finding things is such an intriguing journey, isn’t it, Carla — time travelling. And there are fellow travelers!

Leave a Reply

