100_71831

Sometimes the best part of a still life might be the depiction of the turn in a fold of cloth. In ordinary life I don’t suppose people think much about the leading edge of a cloth as it folds under itself.  I know that outside of my practice of art I rarely think about such things.  It is art that brought me into contact with such ideas.

Perhaps physicists sometimes think along this line.  Once, very late at night, I heard a physicist explaining multiple dimensions on the radio.  He said that the hidden dimensions might be like tubes that coil in upon themselves.

Well, whether or not there are hidden folded dimensions that create the universe there are certainly frequent occasions when the cloth folds, and the observation of the fold is a marvel to behold.

Sometime I’ll have to talk about the rest of the painting, the part above the fold.

Leave a Reply

