foliage study #3a (2)

Scribbling out the idea … it’s like sight reading in music.  I’m not sure how the music sounds yet.  I haven’t actually heard it.  I’m reading the parts, getting figures in my head.  First I have to find out what is there.  Later I will look for interpretation.  First comes practice.  At some future juncture my hands will go straight to the notes.  You must assimilate the music.  It has to go from the page to the interior of your head.  You have to hear it a while, get a feeling for the whole, discover its anticipations, its revelations.

There’s a beginning, a middle and an end.  I don’t even know what the beginning is.  I compose the visual music at the same time that I learn it.

 

2 thoughts on “sight reading a page inside the book

  1. thank you! and thank you for asking, Michael. It’s drawn using ball point pen for the first lines. Over that I drew using Caran D’Ache Neocolor II (watersoluble) crayons. Some of the crayon I smudge a little bit. And it’s drawn inside an old library book — so whatever kind of paper that is.

Leave a Reply

