101_9040 (2)

I made a first drawing of the lion’s head. It’s a decoration on a vase in the picture. And the lion’s head has deep, echoing meanings for me.  I dreamt about a path guarded by lion statues once, eons ago.  And of course everyone’s favorite artist Johannes Vermeer has lion’s head finials in two of his paintings.

101_9038 (4)

The lion vase is one feature of the painting that I’m joyfully anticipating.  I will think my way through it many times, in various drawings. I merely whet my appetite here.

Below are some of Vermeer’s lions heads.

Vermeer_-_Girl_with_a_Red_Hat (4)
right side finial, Girl with the Red Hat

 

Vermeer_-_Girl_with_a_Red_Hat (3)
left side finial, Girl with the Red Hat

 

vermeer girl with a flute (2)
finial in Girl Holding a Flute
2 thoughts on “coming soon the lion’s head

Leave a Reply

